jump to navigation

Behold September 4, 2007

Posted by shadows15 in Female reverts, Gems and Jewels, Personality Development.
trackback

This beautiful poem is for all of our beautiful sisters who are proud to wear the hijab.

When you look at me, what do you see?

Do you see oppression and misery?

Do you see a cage enclosing me?

 

What do you see when you look at me?

I’m curious to know if it’s sorrow or glee?

Is it freedom or slavery?

Do you see in me the weakness of a fallen tree?

A nation plagued by calamity?

If you’ll look just a little closer you’ll see

A life of fulfillment and reason to be

A content that escapes even the most wealthy

Resonates inside of me

My roots are strong like my decree

In my hands I hold life’s answer key

The twisted road can no longer be

In my presence despair will flee

So take a step back and look once more

At this beautiful faith that feeds the core

Throw away all the lies and propaganda

This faith only follows God’s agenda

With an open heart and an open mind

Behold this marvel, the only one of its kind

 

Taken from “Everyday Struggles: The Stories of Muslim Teens”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

